Wind Powering America program honors several for contributions to advancing wind energy

At its annual State Summit recently, the U.S. Department of Energy's Wind Powering America program presented awards to a number of groups and individuals for their contributions to advancing the use of wind energy in the United States.

Those honored include:

Outstanding Wind Working Group: Georgia Wind Working Group for their efforts in promoting wind energy in Georgia and the Southeast, including support for the 2012 WINDPOWER Conference.

Outstanding Leadership in Education: Gwen Andersen of St. Francis University for her efforts to spearhead the development of broad-based education development in wind energy.

Outstanding Wind Powering America Partner: Southern Alliance for Clean Energy for their efforts to support the development of land based and offshore wind energy development in the southeast.

Larry Flowers Outstanding Leadership Award: Mackinaw Power and the Gratiot Community Wind Project, which demonstrates clear leadership in the development of wind projects in harmony with the local community.

Young Advocate Award: Karin Wadsack of Northern Arizona University for her incredible energy and creativity in developing educational support for wind energy across the state.

Small Wind Leadership Award: Brett Pingree for his tireless efforts around the support of the small and community wind industry.

Western Regional Leadership: Western Interstate Energy Board for their forward-thinking efforts around the development of the Western Renewable Energy Zones and multi-state collaboration in transmission planning.

Midwestern Regional Leadership: Windustry for their many years of work supporting community wind development, specifically the Community Wind Across America conference series.

Eastern Regional Leadership: Massachusetts Clean Energy Center for their long term and strong leadership across the state and region focusing on offshore and community scale wind development.

Lifetime Achievement: Dwight Bailey, Project Manager, National Energy Technology Laboratory, U.S. Department of Energy.

A list of previous program honorees is available on the Wind Powering America awards Web page.


Stay informed

Take Action

Subscribe to the American Clean Power blog and receive the latest renewable energy news, policy updates, and opportunities to get involved.