Andrew Linehan Award

This award is presented in memory of Andrew “Andy” Linehan to leaders in the permitting and environmental community who go above and beyond in their positions and are constantly striving to improve the siting practices of the clean energy industry, create or support innovative conservation opportunities for renewable energy projects, and elevate and foster lines of communication and collaboration among renewable energy and wildlife stakeholders. It is such thought leaders that help to preserve the collective brand image that sets this industry apart from other forms of energy generation.

Evaluation Criteria:

    • Individual has worked in the clean power industry for three or more years.
    • Individual is in a leadership position with development or owner/operator company and able to influence siting/permitting policy for his or her organization.
    • Individual has demonstrated leadership in the area of siting and has helped advance a new or unique way of addressing siting issues which serve to benefit the industry as a whole.
    • Individual engages regularly with the ACP Siting Committee and other stakeholders so that the broader industry benefits from the work/experience.
    • Preferably, but not required, the individual should display an interest in wildlife, conservationism, bio-recreation, etc., outside of work life.

The Andrew Linehan Award for Environmental Excellence is presented each year at the ACP Siting & Environmental Compliance Conference.

Nominations are now closed.

Congratulations to the 2023 winner, Jennifer A. McIvor, Vice President and Chief Environmental Officer, Berkshire Hathaway Energy!

2023 award winner Jennifer McIvor pictured here at ACP’s Siting and Environmental Compliance Conference 2023.

Past Winners

2022   Laura Nagy, Avangrid Renewables
2020   Tim Hayes, Duke Renewable Energy
2019   Rene Braud, Pattern Energy Group
2016   Christine Calabrese, EDP Renewables North America LLC
2014   Roby Roberts, EDP Renewables North America
2013   Kevin Martin, Terra-Gen Power, LLC
2012   Stu Webster, Iberdrola Renewables
2011   John Calaway, Pattern Energy Group LP
2010   Michael Azeka, AES Wind Generation

Recipient of ACP's Andrew Linehan Award for Environmental Excellence.

About Andy

In January 2010, the clean energy industry lost a true champion and leader in the siting community, when Andrew “Andy” Linehan lost his long-term battle with cancer. Prior to his passing, Andy exhibited his leadership time and again through his participation in both the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Wind Energy Guidelines Federal Advisory Committee and the Wildlife and Federal Permitting Committee. He identified new and cost-efficient ways (examples include his contributions to the creation of the Renewable Energy Wildlife Institute (formally known as the American Wind Wildlife Institute) and the creation of the industry’s first fleet-wide avian and bat protection plan) to address the variety of siting issues facing the industry. Through his leadership and overall enthusiasm for the industry and the environment, Andy represented the epitome of environmental and professional excellence.


ACP’s  is the place where industry leaders, experts and stakeholders address crucial clean energy siting, permitting, community engagement & environmental compliance topics.

Sponsoring gives you the opportunity to broadcast your company brand.


Sponsoring ACP’s Siting and Permitting Conference generates exposure for your company that helps establish you as a market leader.