Time to nominate top public power utility for wind

The time is now to recognize public power—and a specific public power utility—for achievements in wind power.

The 2013 Public Power Wind Award, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy's Wind Powering America initiative in partnership with the American Public Power Association (APPA), will honor one public power utility (PPU) for its leadership in wind power. All PPUs that are APPA members and have not received the award in the past are eligible for nomination, and there is no cost to participate.

Anyone can nominate a PPU, and AWEA members are encouraged to submit nominations. Submit nominations by close of business on March 25, using the nomination form available online.  Submit the nomination via email to Randy Manion at manion@wapa,gov.

The 2013 winner will be recognized at the APPA National Conference in
Nashville, Tenn., June 14-19.

Past winners include Palo Alto (Calif.) Utilities, Denton (Tex.) Municipal Electric, CPS Energy, Princeton (Mass.) Municipal Light Department, Nebraska Public Power District, Cowlitz and Klickitat PUDs, Sacramento Municipal Utility District, Waverley (Iowa) Light and Power, town of Hull (Mass.), Fort Collins (Colo.) Utilities, Austin (Tex.) Energy, and Aspen (Colo.) Municipal Electric.

Stay informed

Take Action

Subscribe to the American Clean Power blog and receive the latest renewable energy news, policy updates, and opportunities to get involved.